The University of Oklahoma added to its incredible football tradition with the
announcement last Saturday night in New York City that the 84 th Heisman Trophy was won
by the Sooners sensational Redshirt Junior Quarterback Kyler Murray.

He became OU’s seventh winner of college football’s top individual award as the
nation’s best player and the second in a row following Quarterback Baker Mayfield’s 2017
trophy. That’s never happened before that quarterbacks from the same school won the
Heisman in consecutive years.

The first Heisman winner came back in 1952 when Cleveland, Oklahoma’s own Billy
Vessels took the trophy followed in 1969 by Miami’s Steve Owens; and 1978 Billy Sims – all
running backs. The next four would all be quarterbacks –Tuttle High School’s Jason White in
2003; Putnam City’s Sam Bradford, 2008 and then Mayfield and Murray 2017 & 2018.

Seven Heisman trophies also ties Oklahoma with Notre Dame and Ohio State for the
most by any college football program and since 1982 OU’s 10 finalists for the award is the
most followed by Miami with 9 and Alabama with 8.

How’s that for some major recruiting ammunition when Lincoln Riley and his staff go
into prospects homes and ask the young men if they want to come play quarterback at the
school that just produced the first back-to-back Heisman trophy winners and also made the
College Football Playoffs Semi-Finals for the second straight year.

-Chris Lincoln